2011 APAM MDOT Awards

This year, 51 projects were evaluated. The judges visited each of the nominated projects and rated them on a scale of 1-10 in the following areas: Appearance: includes overall neatness, no overspray or left-over materials; Ride: must be smooth; Texture Uniformity: free of segregation, major surface grinding, roller markings, etc.; Longitudinal and Traverse Joints: straight, well-blended, smooth and uniform; Edges: straight, uniform, true to the contour of the road; Approaches: blended well with the mainline pavement; Utility Covers: flush with the pavement; Degree of Difficulty: includes exceptional circumstances, maintenance of traffic, night paving, etc. The individual judges scores were then added up and averaged to arrive at the highest project scores.

The awards were presented byKevin Gannon (Payne & Dolan) APAM President and Greg Johnson, MDOT Chief Operations Officer. The Asphalt Pavement Association of Michigan and The Michigan Department of Transportation congratulates the 2011 Paving Award Winners!

Award of Merit - Urban Streets

Harper Ave. Macomb County - Cadillac Asphalt / Clarkston

L: Mike Yedinak, Cadillac Asphalt / Clarkston

R: John Niemela, CRAM Director

Award of Merit - Urban Streets

I-96 BL Cedar Street - Michigan Paving / Spartan Asphalt

L: Jason Ryder, Spartan Asphalt

R: Robert Welch, MDOT Lansing TSC

Award of Excellence - Urban Streets

Walton Blvd., Oakland County - Ajax Paving Industries, Inc.

L: Don Uptegraff, Oakland CRC

R: Paul Graney, Ajax Paving

Award of Merit - Local Agency

West Jefferson Ave., Wayne Co. - Cadillac Asphalt / Rawsonville

L: Todd Storzbach, Cadillac Asphalt / Rawsonville

R: Jesus Plasencia, Wayne County

Award of Excellence - Local Agency

Bailey Dr., Kent Co. - Rieth-Riley Construction / Ada

L: Jeff Kocsis, Kent CRC

R: Riley Ramoie, Rieth-Riley / Ada

Award of Merit - Single Course Overlay

M-5 Connector, Oakland Co. - Ajax Paving Industries, Inc.

L: Sandra Montes, MDOT Oakland TSC

David Cowper, Ajax Paving

Award of Excellence - Single Course Overlay

I-196, Kent County - Michigan Paving / Grand Region

L-R: Al Pennington, Moore & Bruggink, Jim DeLaFuente, MDOT

Jason VanPatten & Andy Michaud, Michigan Paving / Grand

Award of Merit - Recreational Projects

Macomb Orchard Trail - Ace Asphalt & Paving

L: John Niemela CRAM Director, M: Jeff Bukoski, Ace Asphalt

R: Robert DeFrain, Hubbell, Roth & Clark

Award of Merit - Airports

Dennis Kauffman Memorial Airport - Rieth-Riley / Houghton Lk.

L: Larry Bushong, Rieth-Riley / Houghton Lake

R: Sean Thompson, Mead & Hunt

Award of Merit - Projects 2,500 to 20,000 Tons

M-35, Marquette Co. - Payne & Dolan

Gery Hartmann, Payne & Dolan, Inc.

Award of Merit - Projects 2,500 to 20,000 Tons

M-100, Clinton County - Michigan Paving / Spartan Asphalt

L: Rick Chelotti, Bergmann, M: Jason Ryder, Michigan Paving /

Spartan R: Robert Welch, MDOT Lansing TSC

Award of Excellence - Projects 2,500 to 20,000 Tons

CR 643, Iron Co. - Northeast Asphalt, Inc.

L: John Niemela, CRAM Director

R: Matt Miller, Northeast Asphalt

Award of Excellence - Projects 2,500 to 20,000 Tons

Gateway Dr. & Walsh Dr. Recon. - Superior Asphalt, Inc.

L: Jeff Bergstrom, Prein & Newhof, M: Tom Ecklund, Kent Co.

R: Rick Browley, Jr., Superior Asphalt

Award of Merit -Projects Over 50,000 Tons

I-196, Allegan Co. - Rieth-Riley Construction / Zeeland

L: Jim Woods, MDOT M: Kurt Engelhardt, Spicer Group

R: Riley Ramoie, Rieth-Riley Construction

Award of Merit - Special / Challenging Projects

GM VDTA PAD - Cadillac Asphalt / Wixom

L-R: Daniel Mullen, GM, Dale Charter, CRA Engineers

Jim Berry, Schleede-Hampton, Dale McIntyre, Cadillac / Wixom

Award of Excellence - Special / Challenging Projects

Mich. Int'l Speedway Repave - Ajax Paving Industries, Inc.

Dave Marshall and Kelly Schwall of Ajax Paving Industries, Inc.