

APAM Celebrates Holiday Season and 2015 Award Winning Teams

On December 10th, the association hosted its annual Holiday Banquet and the presentation of the APAM/MDOT Asphalt Paving Awards, at the Kellogg Center on the campus of Michigan State University. It was very festive night as we celebrated our 39th anniversary of the Asphalt Paving Awards Program.

Over 275 people attended and enjoyed the festivities including representatives from MDOT, APAM members, local agencies, county road commissions, consultants and Michigan universities. The evening was filled with cold beverages and great conversation as industry partners celebrated the upcoming Holiday Season and the honored award winning teams.

The evening's program began with Executive Director John Becsey welcoming the attendees.

MDOT Chief Operations Officer, Mark Van Port Fleet offered opening remarks on the importance of the APAM/MDOT Partnership in addressing challenges in the past as well as future challenges that may arise. He offered congratulations to the award winning teams and also noted there were many other great projects among the nominees.

Chuck Mills, APAM's Director of Engineering, announced the APAM Scholarship winners. This year 11 deserving students are receiving scholarships. (click to view the 2015 APAM Scholarship Recipients List)

To complete the festivities, Chuck Mills, APAM Director of Engineering announced the winners of the 2015 APAM/MDOT Asphalt Paving Awards as the plaques were presented by MDOT COO Mark Van Port Fleet and APAM's President Chad Loney.

This year 73 projects were evaluated in 10 different award categories. The judging committee visited each of the nominated projects, traveling 4,589 miles in 12 days. Each project was rated in the following areas: Appearance, ride, texture, uniformity, longitudinal and transverse joints, edges, utility cover adjustments and degree of difficulty.

Congratulations to all the award winning teams who worked on the 20 projects that received the 2015 Asphalt Paving Awards.

(Click here to see a listing of the 2015 Award Winning Projects)