

APAM Celebrates Holiday Season and 2010 Award Winning Teams

On December 9th, the association hosted our Holiday Banquet and the presentation of the APAM / MDOT Asphalt Paving Awards at the Kellogg Center on the campus of Michigan State University. It was a very special evening as we celebrated the 33rd anniversary of our Asphalt Paving Awards Program.

Over 250 people attended and enjoyed the festivities including representatives from MDOT, APAM members, local agencies and consultants. The evening was filled with frosty beverages, good food and great conversation as industry partners celebrated the upcoming Holiday Season and the honored the award winning teams.

The evening's program began with Executive Director John Becsey welcoming the attendees and introducing special guests.

MDOT's Director, Kirk Steudle offered opening remarks on the successes of MDOT's partnership with the industry and the importance of the APAM/ MDOT Paving Awards.

Jim Klett announced the APAM scholarship winners with Scholarship Committee member Dan Stover assisting. <u>(Click here to see more information on this year's winners)</u>.

And to complete the festivities, Chuck Mills announced the winners of the 2010 APAM /MDOT Asphalt Paving Awards as the plagues were presented by MDOT's Greg Johnson and APAM President Andy Schmidt.

For 2010, a total of 66 projects were evaluated in 10 different award categories. The judging committee visited each of the nominated projects, traveling about 3900 miles in 10 days. Each project was rated on a scale of 1-10 in the following nine quality areas: Appearance, Ride, Texture Uniformity, Longitudinal and Transverse Joints, Edges, Utility Cover Adjustments and Degree of Difficulty.

Congratulations to the all of the people who worked on the 13 projects that received these coveted awards for 2010.

Click here to see a listing of the 2010 award winning projects.